In Summary
  • The government plans to start drilling boreholes and water pans in miraa growing areas for irrigation.

A team from the Miraa Taskforce Report Implementation Technical committee accompanied by officials from the Ministry of Agriculture will visit sites that have already been identified for these projects from Monday.

This comes after political leaders from Meru, Tharaka Nithi and Embu met in December last year at Kilimo House in Nairobi where they unanimously agreed on how to share Sh1 billion issued by President Uhuru Kenyatta to cushion farmers in 2016.

Meru County, the leading mirraa growing zone in Kenya, got the lion’s share of Sh670 million while Embu got Sh167 million. Tharaka Nithi County received the least, Sh41.7 million.

The team will visit the sites to get maps, ownership documents and plans before commencing of the projects, which also include construction of miraa trading shades.

Meru will benefit from 10 boreholes, Tharaka Nithi three and Embu five.

However, Embu will get the highest number of water pans at seven and Tharaka one while Meru won’t get any.

Documents seen by the Sunday Nation show that a miraa revolving fund will be established within the commodities fund.

Page 1 of 2