In Summary
  • The MCAs from 14 member counties are expected to come up with laws that would lead to creation of the outfit.

Ward reps could make or break the new Lake region economic bloc even as 14 member counties start the process of setting up operations of the group.

Head of bloc secretariat, Mr Abala Wanga, says Members of County Assemblies (MCAs) will be required to give life to the association launched on March 26. 

It should start business if a third of the 14 devolved units ratify the agreement that created it, which includes approving formation of the secretariat and terms of reference. Ward reps will be tasked with that duty.

They will also be required to pass similar laws to avoid contradictions, and allow seamless implementation of the projects identified by the bloc.

“County assemblies are very important here and so they must be involved in the process and also be made part of the bloc through an instrument called County Assembly Caucus,” he said.

“They will be looked upon to approve many of the activities we are undertaking to turn around the region,” said Mr Wanga. 

The group covers counties in Nyanza, western and parts of the Rift Valley with a population of 14 million people. 

Member are Kakamega, Bungoma, Busia, Trans Nzoia, Vihiga, Kisumu, Siaya, Homa Bay, Nyamira, Kisii, Migori, Nandi, Bomet and Kericho.

Page 1 of 2