In Summary
  • Other Kisumu CECs took oath in December last year.
  • But the nominee for Finance turned down the job, saying he had taken up a different job.
  • Governor Nyong'o moved Lands CEC Nerry Achar to the Finance docket and appointed Dixon Odhiambo to replace her in the Lands department.

Kisumu Governor Anyang’ Nyong’o has finally appointed a county executive committee member for Finance, more than three months after his Cabinet was sworn into office.

The other committee members were sworn in on December 5, 2017.


Prof Nyong’o on Saturday announced that he had reassigned Lands, Housing, Physical Planning and Urban Development CEC Nerry Achar to the Finance docket.

He named Dixon Odhiambo Obungu as the new CEC for Lands, he said in a statement dispatched by his communication team.

The governor said the reassignment takes immediate effect.

Only nine CEC members were sworn in last year as Governor Nyong’o’s nominee for Finance, Mr Robert Ouko, did not turn up.

The governor said then that he had written to the county government saying he had accepted a different job offer.

Prof Nyong’o dropped all CECs who served under his predecessor Jack Ranguma.


His cabinet includes CECs Gilchrist Okuom (Agriculture, Livestock, Food and Fisheries), Achi Ojany (Tourism, Culture, Arts and Sports), Salmon Orimba (Environment, Water, Irrigation and Natural Resources) and Richard Ogendo (Economic Planning and Development).

Others are Rosemary Obara (Health and Sanitation), John Obiero (Education, ICT and Human Resource Development), Alice Moraa (Business, Energy and Industry) and Thomas Owiti (Public Works, Roads and Transport).