In Summary
  • Mr Alphonse Wera rejected the post for Energy CEC, saying he is not qualified.
  • He says he had applied for the Trade executive post.

A nominee for Homa Bay County Executive Committee has declined his position after being approved by the county assembly.
The nominee for Energy, Mr Alphonse Wera, rejected the post and skipped the swearing-in ceremony that took place on Wednesday last week.

Mr Wera claimed that he lacks experience to deliver services to Homa Bay residents in the Energy department.
He said he applied for the position of Trade but was appointed in the Energy department.
“Accepting to serve in a department where I lack professional qualification would undermine my integrity and disappoint the people of Homa Bay,” Mr Wera said. 

He said he was among the 10 CECs approved by the county assembly last Tuesday. The following day, only nine nominees were sworn in.

Mr Wera currently works with an international NGO based in Nairobi.

The nine officials were sworn in by Homa Bay Principal Magistrate Susan Ndegwa in a ceremony presided over by Governor Cyprian Awiti, his Deputy Hamilton Orata and County Secretary Isaiah Ogwe.

The nine are Dickson Nyawinda (Water), Nicholas Koriko (Finance), Richard Muga (Health), David Okeyo (Roads), Carelus Ademba (Trade), Beatrice Ogola (Lands), Roselyn Odhiambo (Tourism), Beatrice Asiago (Education) and Aguko Juma (Agriculture).
While approving the list on Tuesday evening, Homa Bay MCAs said the nominees qualified for their positions and they wanted development works to begin in the county.

“The vetting committee found them suitable to serve in the respective positions they were nominated for,” majority leader Richard Ogindo said.

Page 1 of 2