In Summary
  • Ten people were nominated for the County Executive Committee positions.
  • After vetting, the Committee on Appointments rejected four of the nominees, saying they were unsuitable for the positions.

The Nakuru County Assembly on Wednesday rejected four of Governor Lee Kinyanjui's 10 nominees to the County Executive Committee.

The governor had promised to appoint a development-oriented Cabinet.

The Committee on Appointments rejected Mrs Halima Gababa Abdulahi (Youth, Gender, Culture and Sports and Social Welfare), Ms Lucy Wanjiku Kariuki  (Housing, Land and Physical Planning), Mr Raymond Kimutai Komen (Education, ICT and e-Government) and Mr Joseph Kiuna (Finance and Economic Planning).


The Assembly committee said the four were unsuitable to hold the positions they were nominated for.

The Committee on Appointments is headed by Speaker Joel Kairo Maina, who was the former executive in charge of Infrastructure under former Governor Kinuthia Mbugua's administration.

Other members of the appointment committee are Mr Stanley Karanja (Leader of Majority), Mr Peter Palanga (Leader of Minority), Gilgil MCA Jane Ngugi, Kiptagich MCA Rose Chepkoech and Kabazi MCA Peter Mbae.

The committee also vetted six other nominees and endorsed them.

They are: former Kiambu Health executive Jonah Manjari Mwangi (Health), Dr Peter Evans Kiplang'at (Trade, Industry, Marketing and Tourism), Mr Lawrence Mwangangi (Public Service, Training and Devolution), engineer Joseph Irungu Mburu (Infrastructure), engineer Festus Kipkoech Ng’eno (Water, Environment, Energy and Natural Resources) and Dr Immaculate Njuthe (Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries).


The report on the vetting was tabled in the Assembly in the morning.

The rejection of the nominees comes in the wake of a last-minute meeting between Governor Kinyanjui and the MCAs on Tuesday evening.

The 78 Assembly members sent a strong signal of independence during the election of the Speaker, when it rejected Jubilee nominee Nelson Gaichuhie (former Subukia MP) and elected Mr Kairo.

Among the rejected nominees is Governor Kinyanjui's top aide and confidant Mr Komen, who is a former Chief of Staff under former Governor Mbugua’s administration.

Page 1 of 2