In Summary
  • Mr Kiai polled 24,535 votes on a Jubilee Party ticket.
  • Mr Kabando who vied as an independent was second with 10,799 votes.
  • He lost in the Jubilee Party nominations to Mr Kiai.

Mukurwe-ini MP Kabando Wa Kabando has lost his seat to newcomer Anthony Gathiaka Kiai in the parliamentary elections.

According to provisional results by IEBC Mr Kabando (independent), who was also a member of President Kenyatta's strategic campaign team, garnered 10,799 votes while Mr Kiai polled 24,535 votes on a Jubilee Party ticket.

A Nairobi businessman Kinaniri Waroe got 6,643 votes to settle for the third position.

The area has four county assembly wards – Gikondi, Rugi, Mukurwe-ini Central and Mukurwe-ini West with 55,310 registered voters.

Mr Kabando was seeking to serve for the third term in the National Assembly as an independent candidate after losing in the Jubilee nominations to Mr Kiai.

Other candidates in the race included Kamau Julius Wambugu of Maendeleo Chap Chap, Kamuruci Benjamin Kaburi of PNU, Paul Kimunyi (independent), Ngari Robert Njoroge of Democratic Party, Peter Ndagitari Karimi Ndirangu of Narc Kenya and Waroe David Mwangi Kinaniri (independent).


Page 1 of 2