Governors facing court challenges include Mombasa’s Hassan Joho, whose election has been challenged by former Senator Hassan Omar, Laikipia’s Ndiritu Muriithi in a case lodged by a voter, Mr Sammy Ndung’u and Nairobi’s Mike Mbuvi Sonko, who has also been taken to court by a voter, Mr Japheth Moroko.


Former Meru Governor Peter Munya has challenged the election of Kiraitu Murungi. According to IEBC, Mr Murungi beat Mr Munya by garnering 280,793 against 231,420 votes.

Other governors whose wins have been challenged are Sospeter Ojaamong of Busia, Martin Wambora (Embu), Ali Korane (Garissa), Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay), Joseph ole Lenku (Kajiado), Amason Kingi (Kilifi), and Kisii’s James Ongwae, who has two election petitions.

The list also has Prof Anyang’ Nyong’o ( Kisumu), Issa Timamy (Lamu), Dr Alfred Mutua (Machakos), Ali Roba (Mandera), Ali Mohamed Mohammed (Marsabit) and Zacharia Okoth Obado of Migori.

Taita Taveta Governor Granton Samboja, Siaya Governor Cornel Rasanga and Turkana’s Josphat Nanok as well as Trans Nzoia’s Patrick Khaemba are facing similar cases.

92 MPS

For woman representatives, 11 of them will have to contend with court cases and they include Garissa’s Anab Gure, Kilifi’s Gertrude Mbeyu, Kisii’s Janet Ongera and Kisumu’s Rosa Buyu.

Some 92 MPs will also be battling court cases, with Kakamega county topping the list with 10 cases.

Nairobi has nine election petitions while Kisii and Kilifi have eight and seven, respectively.

A total of 129 MCAs across the country will also not be sitting pretty as their rivals seek to unseat them.

Page 2 of 2