In Summary
  • The National Assembly ratified the agreement signed in Kigali, Rwanda last week.

  • Another 17 countries said they would ratify AfCTA partially allowing for free trade.
  • Countries have to ratify the AfCTA agreement at national level by September this year.
  • Rwanda and Ghanaian parliaments have already ratified the treaty.

Kenya will next week deposit legal instruments ratifying the Africa Continental Free Trade Area at the African Union Commission just a week after the National Assembly ratified the agreement that was signed in Kigali, Rwanda in March.

The instruments are expected to be lodged with the AU Commission Chairperson Moussa Faki as a sign of Kenya’s commitment to the integration of all the 54 African states.

This was revealed by State House Spokesman Manoah Esipisu during his weekly press briefing in Nairobi on Sunday.

“Kenya attaches significant importance to the Tripartite Free Trade Agreement and AfCTA because of the huge market and investment opportunities that they will present to Kenya. That is why we want to be the first country to deposit our instruments of ratification,” Mr Esipisu said.

Last March, Kenya was among 27 countries that signed the protocol allowing for free movement of goods and services throughout the African continent during a ceremony held in Kigali, Rwanda, on March 21.


Dubbed the AfCTA, the protocol to the treaty establishing the African economic community, commits governments to remove tariffs on 90 percent of goods produced within the continent and phase out the rest over time.

AfCTA targets to create the world’s largest single market of 1.2 billion people and GDP of $3.4 trillion (Sh340 trillion).

Another 17 countries said they would ratify AfCTA partially allowing for free trade but not movement and residency of people from other countries.

Page 1 of 2