In Summary
  • Jkuat and KU are among 19 institutions in Uganda, Tanzania and Kenya operating in Tanzania that have been affected by the decision.
  • An audit conducted in September and October 2016 revealed they had not observed standards and regulations guiding the sector.
  • Last year, the university sacked its director of the Kigali campus for being behind the disappearance of more than Sh20 million.

Two Kenyan universities have been barred from admitting students to their Tanzania campuses this year over failure to comply with the country’s standards and regulations.

Kenyatta University and Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) will, however, continue teaching continuing students in their Arusha campuses.

KU and JKUAT, which have been battling to retain the campuses, are among 19 universities, including Tanzanian and Ugandan ones, affected by the directive.

The Tanzania Commission for Universities executive secretary, Professor Eleuther Mwageni, said an audit conducted in September and October revealed non-compliance with quality and standards in the institutions’ teaching.


“The audit report showed some weaknesses and shortcomings in these universities and, for that reason, there will be no admission of students in these universities in the 2017/2018 academic year,” said Prof Mwageni in a public notice.

The institutions had been criticised by, among others, Education Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i, for having the campuses outside the country.

The management of the institutions, which appeared before the National Assembly’s Public Investments Committee (PIC), have been at pains to explain the rationale of operating the campuses.

Page 1 of 2