The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Chairman Wafula Chebukati has released timelines for the Embakasi and Ugenya constituencies by-elections slated for April 5.

The schedule also applies to the Lelan Ward by-election in Elgeyo Marakwet.

The two parliamentary by-elections were announced after National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi declared the seats held by Christopher Karan (Ugenya) and Julius Mawathe (Embakasi South) vacant on January 7.

Mr Muturi’s declaration followed the Supreme Court judgment of December 21, 2018 that nullified the victories of the MPs in the August 8, 2017 general elections on grounds that they were not validly elected. 

In the Kenya gazette issue of January 11, IEBC chairman Mr Wafula Chebukati says that political parties intending to participate in the elections shall submit the names of persons contesting in the nominations by Monday 21, 2019.

This came even as he announced that public officers who want to contest in the by-elections have seven days to resign from their office counting from January 7, when Mr Muturi officially notified IEBC of his issuance of writs declaring the seats vacant.

Independent candidates will be eligible to contest in the elections as long as they have not been members of any political party for the last three months before the by- election date as set by the commission.

The Independent candidates are required to submit their names and symbols they intend to use in the by- elections by January 14 to pave the way for their publication in the Kenya gazette at least 14 days before the nomination day.

Page 1 of 2