In Summary
  • Yatta MP Charles Kilonzo urged the nominees to serve all the regions in the country.
  • The Jubilee lawmakers accused their Nasa counterparts of hypocrisy.

Legislators allied to the Jubilee coalition unanimously approved the nine nominees for Cabinet Secretary (CS) position on Wednesday after their opposition colleagues boycotted the session.

The MPs had an easy time approving the names of the nominees after their opposition MPs stormed out of the chambers during debate on the report by the Parliamentary Appointments Committee, which conducted the vetting exercise.

The Nasa MPs had also boycotted the vetting exercise last week, insisting that they do not recognise the presidency of Uhuru Kenyatta.

They however showed up in Parliament only to storm out immediately debate on the report started.

The move gave Jubilee lawmakers a field day as they showered the nominees with accolades on how they are qualified to undertake their duties.

They unanimously adopted the report of the Appointments Committee on the nine nominees who are now awaiting formal appointment by President Kenyatta.

The nominees are Margaret Kobia (Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs), John Munyes (Petroleum and Mining), Monica Juma (Foreign Affairs), Farida Karoney (Lands) and Peter Munya (East African Community).

Others are Simon Chelugui (Water and Sanitation), Rashid Achesa (Sports), Ukur Yattani (Labour) and Keriako Tobiko (Environment).

Despite questions raised concerning Mr Achesa’s academic qualifications, the Jubilee MPs dismissed the arguments, saying having good academic papers does not translate to performance.

Page 1 of 2