In Summary
  • He voted on behalf of Meru Senator Mr Mithika Linturi (Energy) and nominated Senator Ms Beth Mugo (Health).
  • The Senate standing committees have a membership of nine with Jubilee enjoying a majority of five.

President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party has taken 31 out of the 32 committee leadership positions in the Senate.

The National Super Alliance will only chair the County Public Accounts and Investments Committee in the elections that concluded Thursday.

Majority Whip Irungu Kang’ata who is also Murang’a Senator said that it was in the interest of Jubilee to win all the seats.

“We have achieved what we wanted, to ensure that Nasa gets zero other than the public accounts and investment committee chairmanship,” Mr Kang’ata, who has been lobbying to ensure that the jubilee agenda goes as planned, said.


The public accounts and investment team is a watchdog committee and the House rules dictate that it should be chaired by the minority side.

Page 1 of 2