In Summary
  • Delegates had elected CS Peter Munya as leader
  • The Political Parties Disputes Tribunal overturned the decision
  • High Court judge John Mativo upheld the tribunal's judgment

The control of the Party of National Unity has been reverted to retired President Mwai Kibaki.

Acting Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu said the former president remains the party's leader according to judgments made by the Political Parties Disputes Tribunal on June 20, 2017 and the High Court on September 11 this year.


Mr John Mbugua was also confirmed as the party chairman, Ms Irene Muronji (first vice chairperson) and Ms Paul Amenya (second vice chairperson).

Mr Kibaki will work with Mr John Okemwa as the party’s secretary-general, Ms Agnes Toya as his deputy and Mr Alphonse Musyoki as the national organising secretary. Other officials are Ms Anastacia Munyendo (national treasurer) and Genery Wando as her deputy, Ms Anne Chebet (director of elections), Ms Prisca Mwita (chairperson of the women league) and Ms Beatrice Cherono (chairperson of the youth league).

The officials were the bona fide office bearers before October 27, 2016 when Trade Cabinet Secretary Peter Munya was elected the party’s leader during a national delegates convention. He left the party’s leadership early this year when he was appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta to the Cabinet.

Page 1 of 2