Jubilee, however, bagged the Lunga Lunga parliamentary seat in Kwale County through incumbent MP Khatib Mwashetani. Mr Mwashetani was elected on a Ford-Kenya ticket in 2013 before shifting allegiance to Jubilee.

Coast long serving politician Ngozi Rai (Jubilee), however, lost the Kinango parliamentary seat to Mr Benjamin Tayari of ODM. 

ODM’s nominated MP Zuleikha Juma was declared Kwale Woman Representative after trouncing Jubilee’s Zainab Chidzuga.

Ms Chidzuga is among top ODM lieutenants who defected to Jubilee but lost in the Tuesday ballot.

Others are Kilifi North MP Gideon Mung’aro who was vying for the gubernatorial seat on a Jubilee ticket, Kilifi South MP Mustafa Iddi, Taita Taveta Woman Rep Joyce Lay, who was vying for the senatorial seat, and senator Dan Mwazo who wanted to be governor.


Jubilee’s Naomi Shaban, however, reclaimed her Taveta parliamentary seat by beating her opponent from Wiper with about 100 votes.

President Kenyatta’s party also took the Taita Taveta woman rep seat through Ms Lydia Mizighi.

Jubilee also bagged the Lamu woman representative seat through Ms Ruweida Mohamed who trounced Ms Shakila Abdalla who was defending her seat on a Wiper ticket. The President’s party also won the Lamu senatorial seat through 31-year-old Anuar Loitiptip.

 ODM took the coast senatorial seats through lawyer Mohamed Faki, Mr Jones Mwaruma (Taita Taveta), Mr Stewart Madzayo (Kilifi ), and Issa Juma Boy (Kwale). Mr Golicha Wario of Jubilee won the senatorial race in Tana River.

Tana River Woman Rep Halima Ware, who defected from Wiper to Jubilee, also lost to Ms Rehema Hassan of MCCP.

 Bura MP Ali Wario also retained the seat on a Jubilee ticket after garnering 10,459 votes. The Nasa and Jubilee coalitions have been fighting for the control of the 1.7 million votes in the region.

Mombasa leads the six coast counties with about 580,223 registered voters, followed by Kilifi 508,068, Kwale 281,041 and Tana River (118,327). Taita Taveta has 155,716 registered voters while Lamu has 69,776.

The region, which overwhelmingly voted for ODM in the 2013 polls, has been a battleground for Nasa and Jubilee. President Kenyatta and Mr Odinga and their running mates made frequent visits to the six coast counties to win locals’ support.

The Jubilee Party supremos were keen on dislodging their key critics in the region – Mr  Joho and Mr Kingi. Mr Suleiman Shahbal was fronted to dethrone Mr Joho while Mr Mung’aro had the task of removing Mr Kingi from power.

Page 2 of 2