The National Super Alliance won most of the seats at the Coast in the August 8 General Election, cementing its popularity in the region.

Jubilee however made inroads in the region that overwhelmingly voted for ODM in the 2013 polls by winning the Kwale gubernatorial seat. Incumbent Governor Salim Mvurya who defected from ODM to

Jubilee after a fall out with the party, beat Wiper candidate Chirau Mwakwere and ODM’s Issa Kipera to bag the seat.


Jubilee further scooped the Lamu gubernatorial seat through former MP Fahim Twaha. Incumbent governor Issa Timamy who was elected on UDF ticket vied for the seat on Amani National Congress ticket and narrowly lost to his archival, Mr Twaha.

Wiper won the Taita Taveta governor’s seat through businessman cum journalist Granton Samboja. Taita Taveta Governor John Mruttu who vied as an independent after losing in the ODM primaries came second.

In Tana River, ODM’s Godhana Dhado was set to be declared winner after trouncing governor Hussein Dado. Mr Dado was elected on Wiper ticket in 2013 but switched to Jubilee in the run-up to the Tuesday’s vote.


ODM’s coast political kingpins Hassan Joho (Mombasa governor) and Amason Kingi (Kilifi) gave their opponents a hard beating, with provisional results indicating they were set to win with huge margins. The duo who are strong defenders of Nasa leader Raila Odinga and the Jubilee administration’s harshest critics proved pundits wrong by showing the huge following they enjoyed.

Mr Joho usually describes himself as the Coast “Sultan,” with his supporters regarding him as the region’s spokesman.

Just like in 2013, Jubilee also lost all the top seats in Mombasa with majority of the MPs and the senatorial seat going to ODM. ODM also bagged all the MP seats in Kilifi, locking out Jubilee despite frequent forays by President Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto to the county.


Jubilee however also bagged the Lunga Lunga parliamentary seat through incumbent MP Khatib Mwashetani. Mr Mwashetani was elected on a Ford-Kenya ticket in 2013 before shifting allegiance to Jubilee. Coast long serving politician Ngozi Rai (Jubilee) however lost the Kinango parliamentary seat to Mr Benjamin Tayari of ODM.

ODM's nominated MP Zuleikha Juma was declared Kwale woman representative after trouncing Jubilee’s Zainab Chidzuga. Ms Chidzuga is among top ODM lieutenants who defected to Jubilee but lost in the Tuesday ballot.

Others are Kilifi North MP Gideon Mung’aro who was vying for the gubernatorial seat on Jubilee ticket, Kilifi South MP Mustafa Iddi, Taita Taveta woman rep Joyce Lay who was vying for the senatorial seat and senator Dan Mwazo who wanted to be governor.

Jubilee’s Naomi Shaban however reclaimed her seat by beating her opponent from Wiper with about 100 votes.

President Kenyatta’s party also took the Taita Taveta woman rep seat through Ms Lydia Mizighi.

Jubilee also bagged the Lamu woman representative seat through Ms Ruweida Mohamed who trounced Ms Shakila Abdalla who was defending her seat on Wiper ticket.

Tana River woman rep Halima Ware who defected from Wiper to Jubilee also lost to Ms Rehema Hassan of MCCP.

Page 1 of 2