ODM took the Public Accounts Committee chairmanship through Ugunja MP Opiyo Wandayi, although the coalition had reportedly settled on Mr Musalia Mudavadi’s pointman, Sakwa Bunyasi (Nambale, ANC).

In the Public Investments Committee, Mvita MP Abdulswamad Nassir was elected the chairman, leaving Butere MP Tindi Mwale of ANC complaining that his party had once again been shortchanged.

Mr Nassir will be deputised by another ODM lawmaker, Wajir North’s Ahmed Ibrahim.

In the Parliamentary Service Commission, Wiper has claimed it was cheated out of a seat that was to be handed to Borabu MP Bernard Momanyi.


Mr Momanyi, in a previous interview, said ODM should have evenly distributed slots in the Parliamentary Service Commission. “ODM should take two because of their numeric strength and Wiper the remaining one slot,” he said

Wiper now wants Nasa to call a retreat of all its elected leaders to allow consensus over the seats.

This, Prof Kibwana said, will allow Wiper to vent its anger over what it said was the breaking of a gentleman’s agreement.

Page 2 of 2