The party has nominated President Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto for re-election.

According to the IEBC figures, the race for president also has seven other nominees, including former VP Kalonzo Musyoka, who was nominated by Wiper, although he has since announced that he will be Raila Odinga’s running mate under National Super Alliance (Nasa).

However, a source at the IEBC on Thursday said Mr Odinga and Mr Musyoka still have time to reconcile their applications and field one presidential nominee before the May 28 deadline.

Other political party nominees who will be challenging President Kenyatta for the presidency are Cyrus Jirongo (United Democratic Party), Amram Inyambuku Musungu (Maendeleo Democratic Party), Ekuru Aukot (Thirdway Alliance Kenya), Justus Zachaos Onyango Juma (Justice and Freedom Party) and Abduba Dida (Alliance for Real Change).


According to IEBC timelines, the presidential nominees were required to start submitting lists of their supporters on Thursday.

A presidential nominee must be supported by at least 2,000 registered voters per county in at least 24 counties, meaning that each nominee must present a list of at least 48,000 supporters. Submitting lists of supporters ends on Monday, May 22.

The Jubilee Party has outdone its competitors in the number of nominees for governor, senator, woman representative, member of Parliament and member of county assembly.

The President’s party has presented governor nominees in 45 of the 47 counties, giving it a big advantage over its main rival ODM, which has 27 nominees for the seat. The two counties where the Jubilee Party does not have nominees for governor are Homa Bay and Kitui counties.

Wiper follows with 13 gubernatorial nominees, two ahead of Machakos Governor Alfred Mutua’s Maendeleo Chap Chap and Amani National Congress of Nasa principal Musalia Mudavadi, which have 11 each.

Page 2 of 2