President Uhuru Kenyatta earned himself a second term by winning several counties in opposition territory, ensuring high voter turnout in his strongholds of Central and Rift Valley regions and growing his share of votes in more counties than his challenger, Nasa leader Raila Odinga, a review of election data by Nation Newsplex reveals.

The President garnered the most votes in 26 counties, six more than in the 2013 election. They include Samburu and Garissa which he moved to his column with the narrowest of margins. The President won Samburu by a margin of 0.2 per cent or 131 votes and Garissa with 0.38 per cent or 427 votes.

The biggest upset was in Marsabit which the President won by 84 per cent of the valid votes cast increasing his share of votes by more than two-thirds over the 2013 election.

In 2013, he garnered 47 per cent of the votes cast and lost to Mr Odinga, who won with 49 per cent of the votes.

Also a surprising win was Nyamira, a county which his challenger had won with 69 per cent with him getting 29 per cent just five years ago. This time, the President garnered 53 per cent or 106, 508 votes compared to Odinga’s 46 per cent or 95,227 votes.

The other counties are Wajir in which the President got 51 per cent of the vote and Narok (52 per cent). Mr Odinga won in 21 counties. Vihiga, which went to then Amani coalition leader Musalia Mudavadi in 2013, was the only county he added to his column in 2017.

In the 2017 election, 151,14622 valid votes were cast with Uhuru Kenyatta getting 8,203,290 or 54 per cent and Raila Odinga (6,762,224 or 44 per cent). The other six candidates got less than one per cent of the total votes.

President Kenyatta saw his share of votes shrink in 24 counties in 2017 compared to 2013 but he increased his votes in 22 and maintained the same share in one.

Mr Odinga’s vote share reduced in 31 counties but increased in 11 while he maintained the same percentage of votes in five.

Page 1 of 2