More than half, 24, of the elective seats in the Senate will be occupied by the Jubilee Party, according to provisional results released by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

Nasa will have 20 senators, Kanu two and the Party for Development and Reform (PDR) one. This means Jubilee will have a majority in the Senate.

Twelve senators are set to retain their seats in this year’s General Election, with 12 others having run for governor in their counties, paving way for newcomers to the Senate.

According to the results, only one of the 44 independent candidates who sought the Senate seat was set for a win, with 17 coming in second and third positions in their counties.

Six (50 per cent) of the senators who ran for the position of governor lost their races.


Murang’a incumbent and Deputy Senate Speaker Kembi Gitura (independent) lost to Kiharu MP Irungu Kang’ata of Jubilee. Mr Kang’ata got 279,285 votes (55 per cent) and Mr Gitura garnered 227,449 votes (45 per cent).

Samburu Senator Sammy Leshore of Kanu lost his seat to Jubilee’s Steve Lelegwe. With 99 per cent of the votes in, Mr Lelegwe was in the lead with 31,746 votes (50 per cent) followed by the incumbent Mr Leshore who got 19,018 votes (30 per cent).

Henry Ndiema (Ford-Kenya) lost Trans Nzoia County to Michael Mbito (Jubilee). With 97 per cent of the votes in, Mr Mbito was leading with 68,991 votes (29 per cent) followed closely by Mr Ndiema with 68,456 votes (28.9 per cent).


Page 1 of 2