More than half the counties (25) in the country will be led by governors of the Jubilee Party, according to provisional results by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC). Nasa will take 18 counties, Maendeleo Chap Chap one, Kanu one and two to go to independent candidates.

Twenty-two county governors are set to retain their seats in this year’s General Elections, 12 of whom belong to the National Super Alliance (Nasa) while nine belong to the Jubilee Party.

Half (24 of 47) governors are on the verge of losing their seats.  Nandi Governor Cleophas Lagat opted out of the race to retain his seat after losing the race to the Jubilee ticket to Senator Stephen Sang. He however pledged to support Mr Sang in the race.  


Two counties, Isiolo and Laikipia, have elected independent candidates to be their next governors.  In Isiolo, Senator Mohammed Abdi Kuti is projected to be the next Governor, having garnered 20,539 votes (42 per cent) of 92 per cent of the votes tallied.

The incumbent, Godana Doyo Adhi (Party for Development and Reform) comes second with 13,746 votes (28 per cent). Mr Kuti opted to run as an independent after defecting from Jubilee Party and Narc-Kenya.

In Laikipia, independent candidate Ndiritu Muriithi, who had earlier on attempted to gain the Jubilee Party’s ticket in the primaries, is leading at 100,109 votes (51 per cent) with 99.81 per cent of the votes tallied. The incumbent, Governor Joshua Irungu (Jubilee), is second with 98,233 votes (50 per cent).

Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya will serve in the county’s Governor office, after beating tough competition from former Kenyan Ambassador to Tanzania Chirau Ali Mwakwere (Wiper Party) and Issah Athuman Kiperah (ODM).  Mr Mvurya had earlier defected from ODM to Jubilee.

With 94 per cent of the votes in, he is way ahead with 112,165 votes (65 per cent) followed by Mr Mwakwere with 27,215 votes (16 per cent) and Mr Kiperah with 27,112 votes (16 per cent).

In as much as the county has voted in a Jubilee Party Governor, Kwale has overwhelmingly voted for Nasa’s Raila Odinga in the Presidential race, with Mr Odinga garnering 134,498 votes (75 per cent).  

Lamu County Governor Issa Timamy (Amani National Congress) lost his seat to Jubilee Party’s candidate Fahim Yasin Twaha. Mr Twaha who won the seat with 22,969 votes (47 per cent), followed by Mr Timamy with 22,420 votes (46 per cent).

Two other candidates affiliated to Nasa, namely Swaleh Salim Swaleh (Wiper Party) and Abdalla Mohamed Abdalla (ODM) collectively garnered 3,570 votes (7 per cent).

Jubilee Party’s Mohamed Abdi Mahamud is set to beat the incumbent Governor Ahmed Abdullahi Mohamed of the ODM Party. With 93 per cent of the votes in, he leads with 46,400 votes (41 per cent) followed by Mr Mohamed with 33,676 votes (30 per cent).

In the Kajiado gubernatorial race, former Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph ole Lenku has trounced ODM Party’s Governor David Nkedianye. With 94 per cent of the votes in, Mr Lenku leads with 166,767 votes (54 per cent) followed by Mr Nkedianye’s 137,074 votes (45 per cent).

With 97 per cent of the votes in, Kabete MP Ferdinand Waititu won the Kiambu County Gubernatorial seat on a Jubilee Party ticket with 743,063 votes (78 per cent). Incumbent Governor William Kabogo, running on an independent ticket, after failing to win the Jubilee Party ticket in the primaries has lost with 199,804 votes (21 per cent).

Page 1 of 2