“…Lastly, Etago, it has been an issue and I have been explained by my cabinet secretary Matiang’i that you want it to be a sub-county. A sub-county is a district right? I have said today that it will become a sub-county. Next week, we will gazette it headquarter to be at Etago, and the DC to report by next week…”                                                     

President Kenyatta at a Jubilee rally in Kisii on July 31, 2017

Can the President create a Sub County?

The president announced the creation of a new sub-county in Kisii County. He said that the new sub-county would be at Etago division, and directed the Acting Cabinet Secretary for Interior and Coordination of National Government to effect this and gazette the new sub-county.

Two days earlier, President Uhuru Kenyatta during a rally in Migori announced the creation Ntimaru and Mabera sub-counties in Kuria East and Kuria West. Deputy County Commissioners head sub counties.

According to the Constitution of Kenya, in Article 132 Section 3(b) (c) The President, being the Head of State and government shall direct and co-ordinate the functions of ministries and government departments and assign responsibility for implementation of any act of parliament to a cabinet secretary.

Page 1 of 2