In Summary
  • Kibitok and Prague Marathon champion Valarie Ayabei won the half marathon.
  • Ayabei clocked 1:11:05 to trounce second-placed Margaret Wangari and Alicent Ruto, who came in third.

Brimin Kipkorir has won the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon, beating Shadrack Kiptoo and Joshua Kipkorir.

Brimin braved a chilly rainy morning and a fall to win the 42 kilometre race in a record time of 2:12:39; in second place was Kiptoo (2:12:56) followed by Kipkorir (2:13:37).

Other winners were newcomer Felix Kibitok and Prague Marathon champion Valarie Ayabei who won the half marathon.


Kibitok broke away at the 18km mark to win men's race in 1 hour, 03 minutes and 26 seconds to defeat Ezekiel Mutai from Kaptagat, who grabbed the second place in 1:03:38 followed by Patrick Kipkorir (1:03:39), Kibitok's training mate.

Bernard Korir and Gilbert Kipkorch wrapped up the top five vanguard in 1:03:59 and 1:04:10 respectively.

Ayabei, who won last year's Valencia Marathon and finished third in this year's Berlin Marathon, clocked 1:11:05 to trounce second-placed Margaret Wangari (1:13:29) and Alicent Ruto, who came in third in 1:14:22.

Celestine Chepchirchir wins the 42km women's race at the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon on November 26, 2017 along Haile Selassie Avenue. PHOTO | CHRIS OMOLLO | NATION MEDIA GROUP

Nandi's Celestine Chepchirchir was the victor in the 42km women's race.

Chepchirchir, 22, clocked 2 hours, 31 minutes and 04 seconds.


Kellen Waithera was pushed to second place (2:35:05) and Peris Jepkorir third (2:35:17).

"I just wanted this victory badly because I believe it will help me secure a manager and major races outside the country," Chepchirchir, who won women's 10km race during the Mombasa International Marathon in October, said.

Standard Chartered Marathon

Standard Chartered Marathon in Nairobi on November 26, 2017. Brimin Kipkorir won the 42km race. PHOTO | EVANS HABIL | NATION MEDIA GROUP

She also took part in the Laikipia Half Marathon and Family Bank Half Marathon where she finished seventh and 10th respectively.

"I had a good build up and what a way to end the season."


Men’s 42KM
1. Brimin Kipkorir 2:12:39

2. Shadrack Kiptoo 2:12:52

3. Joshua Korir 2:13:27

4. John Kipsang 2:14:12

5. Philip Tirop 2:14: 15

6. Kenneth Kiplagat 2:14:44

7. James Kiptum 2:14:49

8. Emmanuel Rutto 2:14:53

9. Elijah Karani 2:14:56

10.Mark Pkorir 2:15:14

Women’s 42KM

1.Celestine Chepchirchir 2:31:41

2. Kellen Waithera 2:35:05

3. Peris Jekorir 2:35:17

4. Dorcas Jepchirchir 2:40:09

5. Milkah Gathogo 2:41:53

6. Hellen Kiprop 2:43:05

7. Lucy Wanjiku 2:43:57

8. Edna Jeruto 2:45:24

9. Tabitha Orembe 2:46:15

10. Alice Cherono 2:46:26

Men’s 21KM

1.Felix Kibitok 1:03:26

2. Ezekiel Mutai 1:03:38

3. Patrick Korir 1:03:39

4. Bernard Korir 1:03:59

5. Gilbert Kipkoech 1:04:10

6. Vincent Kimutai 1:04:16

7. Joseph Kachapin 1:04:21

Page 1 of 2