In Summary
  • Rugby player Ambaka, footballer Matasi, athletes Manangoi, Kipruto also vying for sportsman award.
  • He is the 2018 IAAF Male Athlete of the Year.

Will Harambee Stars goalkeeper Patrick Matasi and Kenya Sevens rugby star William Ambaka halt athletics dominance for the men and eventually overall title at this year’s Safaricom Sports Personality of the Year award (Soya)?

That is the million-dollar question on the lips of the events enthusiasts ahead of the 15th edition of the gala which take place at Fort Jesus in Mombasa County Friday evening.

Apart from swimmer Jason Dunford who won the award in 2007 and Collins Injera who won in 2009, no male athlete from a sports other than athletics has won the award making sports fans wait on Friday’s announcement with bated breath.

Past winners Eliud Kipchoge (2016) and Conseslus Kipruto (2017) will once again be vying for top honours at the event where they will face fellow athlete Elijah Manangoi, Kenya Sevens star Ambaka and Matasi.

Kipchoge, who broke the world marathon record, won the men’s title in 2016, but was beaten to the overall title by the 2016 Rio Olympic 5,000m champion Vivian Cheruiyot.

Kipruto, the world 3,000m steeplechase champion, won the title in 2017, but was pipped to the overall title by Paralympic athlete Samuel Mushai.

The battle will, however, be between Kipchoge and Kipruto who both had stellar seasons and are strong favourites to lift the sportsman of the year crown.

Kipchoge, who is also the Olympic Marathon champion, started the year strongly with victory at the London Marathon in 2 hours, 04 minutes and 17 seconds on April 22, which was the 15th fastest time over the distance, having won at the same course in 2015 in 2:04:42 and 2016 in 2:03:05, missing the world record by eight seconds.

Kipchoge then went for Berlin Marathon victory where he shattered the world record by a massive one minute and 18 seconds, setting a new time of 2:01:39 in September on the streets of the German capital.

Page 1 of 2