On his way to the world record and his third Berlin title, Kipchoge also broke the 30km world record setting a new time of 1:26:45. That accomplishment, was among many that led to him being declared the 2018 IAAF Male Athlete of the Year.

Kipruto has been in fine form since winning the Olympic 3,000m steeplechase title in Rio in 2016 and World title in 2017 London. He won gold at the Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast, Australia before going for the Africa title in Asaba, Nigeria.

Kipruto then retained his Diamond League trophy in style, clocking 8:10.15, while running with one shoe in Zurich on August 30. He then finished the season in style, winning his first World Cup (IAAF Continental Cup) in the Czech Republic in 8:22.55 on September 8.


Athlete Beatrice Chepkoech, the Africa, Continental and Diamond series steeplechase winner will battle it out with World 5,000m champion Helen Obiri, boxer Fatuma Zarika and rugby star Janet Okello for the Sportswoman of the Year award.

Swimming sensation Maria Brunlehner and tennis rising star Angela Okutoyi headline the girl’s category in the Most Promising Player awards.

In the boy’s category, Edward Zakayo - who grabbed 5000m Commonwealth Games bronze before following it up with victories over the same distance at the World Under-20 and Africa Championships, will be the man to beat.

Also in contention for the girl’s award are world Under-20 5,000m champion Beatrice Chebet, Youth Olympics 1,500m champion Edinah Jebitok and Harambee Starlets forward Teresa Engesha.

Okutoyi won the ITF under-18 tournament in Burundi which saw her join the ITF World Tour team that embarked on a five-week tour of France, Germany, Belgium and Czech Republic earlier this year.

She also made history as the first Kenya to reach the final of the Africa Cup on Nations in November in Botswana.

Page 2 of 2